IT’S A BLOGGY, BLOGGY WORLD!

I bite. Tis Getting to Know You Wednesday over at Create a Connection. The guest-host this month is Charlotte at casa de Charlotte della luna.

When did you begin your first blog and what inspired you to do so?

I started blogging back in 2003. I was inspired because I wanted a way for my friends to read about me, yet I didn’t want to feel like I was over burdening them with long and continuous e-mails. I still feel sad when I know there are friends of mine who don’t keep up with the blog each day, but this way, at least a surprise comment once in a while is nicer than never getting a response from my e-mail. Wow, that was my original reason…how times have changed. And oh my, how very many friends I have made in person and in the blog world through All Things Jennifer. Talk about opening doors!!!

Do you have more than one blog? Why? How are they different?

Goodness me. Currently? I have two blogs: All Things Jennifer and Perchance to Be and one co-blog: Chronicles of 27. I have had strictly political blogs, strictly secret blogs and several co-blogs that have faded away to blog heaven. I want Perchance to Be to eventually have samples and stories posted, once I am brave enough to do so. Until then I post all my links about writing and reading etc…

How would you characterize your blog?

Creative- Yes (Sometimes more so at PTB)

Political- Yes, but it used to be much more so. I was once found by the good people at PRI international and asked to record an interview about my moderate/libertarian woman support of W in the election. I didn’t feel comfortable doing the interview so I sent them to Karol instead.

Informational- Heck yeah!

Community-oriented- Duh? Am I a blogger in the WNYMEDIA family? Once upon a time before the days of BuffaloPundit and BuffaloRising, I was one of the few who was out there trying to promote POSITIVE BUFFALO by way of my blog. Of course, once blogging caught wind here in Buffalo…these other two giants took on that job full-time. But I was out there before they were (of course I also deleted all of my blog from 2003-2005 in a state of blackness so the archives Before Pundit and Before Rising are nowhere to be found) but trust me I was out there.

Or something else?- I am always something else

Here’s a snippet of what I recently wrote while worrying about the change over in my WNYMEDIA family of bloggers.

I knew what I was getting into when I decided to go ahead with this sidebar profile in Buffalo Spree- and no, my hair was never that red, the sun was extremely bright that day. I knew that with this article, people outside my little blog world would start to know who I was. With more local readers and publicity, my blogging shifted focus. Not quite as personal or politically opinionated because I was now writing with a larger (local) audience in mind. People who know where I work. And then a year or so later? Enter WNYMEDIA. What great opportunities I have had under this group of media mentors. I love sharing my blog. I love knowing that WNYMEDIA wants ALL THINGS to be ALL THINGS and yet contribute to the larger goal whenever possible.

To paraphrase Oprah, what is “one thing you know for sure” about blogging?

I have no children…all I have is my blog.

Is it important to you to get feedback in terms of comments or pings? Why or why not?

I hate not getting comments, to tell the truth, but what can ya do about it? All I hope is that people somewhere are reading and enjoying and coming back for more.\

*And with that note, I am going to make sure I comment on every blog I find through Create a Connection today while going through these questions. Try it!*

What 3 blogs would you recommend to our readers and why?
Hmmm. This is a tough one. Based on sheer *blog worthy* information alone…

1. Best Week Ever

2. Mental Floss

3. The Creative Class

But my top three personal blogs I recommend are…(all writers!)

1. Blind Cavefish
Because everyone should know Jess, oh if I only lived in NYC…I would so stalk her until she became my friend. And then I could be friends with her best friends too! (I just snuck in another blog ;)

2. Musings of an Insomniac Writer
Because I have a huge girl crush on Kristen, she is witty, intelligent, confident, sexy and someone I want to be more like someday.

3. So Anyway…
Because Eden kicks ass, even in Bumblefuck, PA. This is the kind of woman I can stand back and applaud. She does it all, raises smart kiddies along the way and still finds time to write, craft, bitch and witch.  I met this blog friend in real life. Good stuff over here, I promise.

One comment

  1. Awww… you’re a sweetheart, Jen. :-) I have a crush on you, too! You amaze me with how prolific you are.

Whatta think?

